Books on Deck

If I weren’t a senior in college with five classes, four jobs, and a literary magazine to run, these are the books I’d be diving in to right about now. Some have been cookin’ on the back of my mind for a while, some are books I’m embarrassed I haven’t read, and others, I’ve just heard of.

Dandelion_wine_first
Dandelion Wine 
by Ray Bradbury. From what I’ve heard, it’s the best book ever. Seems like just the kind of nostalgia-tinted American childhood tale that I love more than anything.From the Sandlot to Wet Hot American Summer, this is an entirely American genre that I can never get enough of. Give me a young boy in the Midwest in the sweltering months some decades ago and you’ll, more likely than not, be giving me a helluva story.

Americanah

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi, mostly because everyone I know has raved about it and I’m ready to jump on the bandwagon. When are the masses ever wrong, am I right?

url-1An Unnecessary Woman by Rabih Alammedine. A single, aging woman living alone in a war-torn, rubbled city with only her books to keep her company. Sounds like a protagonist I would’ve written. Plus I suspect it’ll be the kind of book that gives me more books to read.

9781439138335_custom-80ddeca771d5551c4d0dd32b89e14f9b265065de-s400-c85

Nora Webster by Colm Toibin. Toibin taught a class on Irish Prose that I took as a freshman. It was evident even as he was lecturing on Yeats and the modern Irish novel that he was, above all, a storyteller. I read Brooklyn and was floored by the compassion and closeness with which he wrote woman. I have no idea what this book is about but I know I want to read it.

1984first

Nineteen Eighty Four by George Orwell (!!) You see why I’m embarrassed.

outline_3019702a

Outline by Rachel Cusk, because it’s about an American writing teacher living in Athens, which is, hello, my dream.

wild-cheryl-strayed

Last but not least, Wild by Cheryl Strayed. I’m very much into the Strayed-iverse from her book Tiny Beautiful Things; it’s about time I read the book that launched her career.

Leave a Reply

